2014 Sierra Ski Chase Winners

goldrush2014_hanson-p8asc-prescup2014_twining-m2Here’s the final standing for the 2014 Sierra Ski Chase with an adjustment for low racer numbers due to the lack of snow this winter.  None of the 12 races in the Chase this year met the criteria for scoring with placing points + age handicap which is 40 or more adult (senior + master) racers.  However, we did have 4 races with 38 or 39 adult racers.  We decided to include these races for full scoring to allow for recognition of top race finishers, rewarding participation and perseverance as well as race performance and handicapping results based on age.  I hope this is a satisfactory solution to our low numbers this year.  Hopefully, we’ll have better snow and more racers next year!  

We will have some swag prizes to distribute to SSC & Masters Challenge winners at the Far West end-of-season awards and party to be held on Saturday, May 10, 2014 from 1-4 pm at the Tahoe Park Beach on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe.  Hope to see you there!

 Please let me know if you have any comments or questions.

Peter Hanson

Congratulations to Sierra Ski Chase winners Mischel Twining and Peter Hanson
Congratulations to everyone who participated this year!

Final Standings
Sierra Ski Chase information.

2014 Tahoe Rim Tour March 30th

The 2014 Tahoe Rim Tour will be held on  March 30, 2014.

MARCH 30, 2014
CLASSIC and  SKATE Divisions.
9:00 am classic start • 9:30am skate start
Pre Registration $50 Adult • $45 Far West members • $20 Junior

FAR WEST NORDIC  presents the 7th annual Tahoe Rim Tour & Race, a point to point 26 kilometer race from Tahoe XC to Northstar California. This is a fundraiser for the Far West Nordic Ski Education Association’s Junior Ski Programs.

We hope you can join us for this very special event that interconnects some of the most scenic parts of Tahoe XC and Northstar’s trails. We’ll have on-going festivities at Northstar as racers come in. Enjoy an end of race lunch followed by awards.

See you at the 2014 Tahoe Rim Tour!

On line registration is open.

Sign Up

Visit www.tahoerimtour.com for more information

The Great Ski Race 2013


750 racers registered and 609 finished what turned out to be one of the most difficult Great Ski Races. A mixture of rain and wet snow made for a slow, sloppy course with the mist at the start turning to snow on the fiberboard freeway. Brian Gregg from Minneapolis was first with a time of 1:34:43 followed by Farm Team racer Spencer Eusden at 1:35:12 and Olympian Marcus Nash at 1:35:31. Olympian Katerina Nash won the women’s race, 6th overall, with a time of 1:39:49, Farm Team racer Beth Taylor was 2nd at 1:45:05, and Caitlin Gregg, winner of last week’s American Birkebeiner, was 3rd at 1:50:12. Far West master and blind skier Walter Raineri, guided by Olympian Beth Reid,  finished in 2:44:40, classic skiing the race on zeros. Walt won the stand up adaptive category and also received an inspirational award, a bronze plaque with the inscription ” The Great Ski Race 2013 . Get out there and just do it. NO EXCUSES.”

Race Results
Photos by MacBeth Graphics

The Great Ski Race

GreatSkiRace2013PosterSunday March 3rd, 2013 9AM
Tahoe XC to Truckee 
Be a Part of the Largest Ski Race In California

The 37th annual point-to-point 30km Great Ski Race is an event not to be missed! Sign up by March 2nd to catch lower entry fees. Race day registration in person by 8:30am.

The Great Ski Race course is in excellent condition due to sufficient snow and cold temperatures. There are some thin spots at the Truckee end but there will be shovel brigades deployed this week to fill them in, and the regular course will be used. Race day forecast: Sunny and a high of 50 degrees, perfect for the post-race party. Register online at www.thegreatskirace.com until midnight Thursday 2/28. 

Fischer Cup, Masters Challenge, and Sierra Ski Chase Event.

Benefit for the Tahoe Nordic Search and Rescue Team.

2013 Tahoe Rim Tour


It was a blustery cold morning with a fresh dusting of snow for the 6th annual Tahoe Rim Tour. Farm Team racers took the classic division honors with Noah Brautigam 1st with a time of 1:37:04, Wyatt Fereday 2nd at 1:37:09, and Gus Johnson 3rd at 1:41:28. Holly Whitney was first woman, 11th overall, with a time of 1:54:51, Ellie Phillips was 2nd at 1:57:50, and Julie Young 3rd at 1:59:15. In the Freestyle division Dan Warren took top honors with a time of 1:36:02 and Beth Thomas was 1st woman, 2nd overall, at 1:37:02. Alex Ferneyhough and Mark Johnson took 2nd and 3rd for the men at 1:37:28 and 1:37:43. Genevieve Evans and Mischel Twining were 2nd and 3rd for the women at 1:40:07 and 1:44:07. In the Snowshoe division, Ross McMahan held onto his title witha time of 1:42:31. Dolores Bergmann won the women’s snowshoe division, 2nd overall, with a time of 1:51:22.

Race Results
Race photos

Sierra Skogsloppet


Sierra Skogsloppet

Race Results
Photos by MacBeth Graphics

175 racers enjoyed a beautiful morning at Tahoe Donner XC for the Sierra Skogsloppet. Farm Team racers prevailed with Spencer Eusden taking 1st at 38:27, Wyatt Fereday 2nd at 38: 28,  Gus Johnson 3rd at 39:00, and Holly Whitney won the women’s race, 6th overall, with a time of 45:24. Cathy Howard was 2nd in the women’s race at 46:03 and Beth Thomas was 3rd at 46:50. The Sierra Skogsloppet is a benefit for the Truckee High School and Alder Creek Middle Schol Nordic Teams.

Sierra Skogsloppet

Skogsloppet13_flyer-smallMonday, January 21, 2013 @ 10AM
Tahoe Donner Cross Country

Come race a 15 kilometer fun course around the Tahoe Donner trails. New 15 km 2 lap course, 7.5 km 1 lap course for juniors and novices, and 2 km youth race for under 13.

ALL profits benefit the Truckee High School and Alder Creek Middle School Nordic Teams!

Sierra Ski Chase, Fischer Cup, and Masters Challenge race!

Pre-Regististration is available until 5 pm Sunday:  $25 Adult, $18 Junior, $5 Youth 2 km
(Race Day registration will be Adult $30 / Juniors $23 / Youth $5)

Alpenglow Freestyle


Alpenglow Freestyle 20K

Race Results
JNQ Results
Photos by MacBeth Graphics

155 racers braved the cold on a beautiful morning for the Alpenglow Freestyle 20K and JNQ. Farm Team racer Noah Brautigam won the men’s race with a time of 1:00:46, followed by Farm Team racer Gus Johnson at 1:02:42, and Taylor Sundali at 1:03:09. For the women Kara LaPoint took top honors with a time of 1:13:01, followed by Julie Young and Molly Zurn with just 1 second between them at 1:15:52 and 1:15:53. In the 10k boys race Peter Holmes was 1st at 32:38, Shane Christian 2nd at 33:06, and Evan Vomund 3rd at 36:12. In the 10K girls race Alecia Phillips, Laurel Robinson, and Sarah Shade shared the podium. Hannah Halvorsen won the 5K Girls race with a time of 12:26, followed by Amanda Kirkeby at 13:04, and Danielle Nivinski at 13:11. Sam Zabell won the 5K boys race at 11:14, Dylan Syben was 2nd at 11:17, and Peter Carroll was 3rd at 11:23.